Last Updated on January 22, 2022 by Peter Wood
When you need to release more space on iPhone, you should delete photos from iPhone. Photos app provides the built-in method to organize pictures, which includes deleting photos. But you might be confused that there is no option to delete photos.
If you cannot find out a trash bin at the bottom of the photos, it means you cannot delete photos from your iPhone. What should you do, especially when you want to clear up storage by removing some needless pictures? If you won’t delete photos from your iPhone, you should keep reading the article to know the reason and troubleshoot.
Generally, there are two types of photos on your iPhone. The photos that are taken by your iPhone camera, and photos are synced from other devices, such as your computer. You can browse both photos in Photos without any difference, the photos are saved in two different locations. You can simply delete the photos saved in the Camera Roll directly from your iPhone. In addition, iPhone users may find that some pictures that synced from iTunes cannot be removed because the trash bin icon is grayed out.
It is quite easy for you to manage the photos you take with your iPhone camera. However, when you transfer photos from iPhone to a computer or when you sync your iPhone with iTunes on your computer, the way to remove photos will be slightly different. And fortunately, you do no need to worry about you can’t delete photos from iPhone anymore, as long as you learn how to delete synced photos from iPhone. The way to handle that matter is likely to delete auto backup photos, you can just take it easy.
If you can’t delete photos from iPhone Moments or Camera Roll, you can attempt to remove a photo from iPhone by using your computer. It should be an efficient method to delete photos from iPhone or iPad. To erase photos from iPhone effectively, you can follow specific steps as below.
Step 1: Make sure that your iPhone is unlocked and go to the user interface before connecting the iPhone to your computer via the original USB cable.
Note: Usually, you should hang on for up to nearly 30 seconds.
Step 2: When you connect the iPhone to your computer. The computer will recognize your iPhone as a portable device.
Step 3: Select the recognized device open the DCIM folder. After that, you are allowed to view the photos within the Camera Roll folder.
Step 4: Preview and choose the desired photos you want to remove or the images you can’t delete from your iPhone.
Step 5: Right-click and choose the Delete on the drop-down menu. After that, you can find the undeletable pictures are disappearing.
When you connect your iPhone to the computer with a USB cable is a useful method to solve the problem of cannot delete photos from iPhone. To some extent, the process might be rather complex, or you are still unable to delete iPhone photos from the computer.
Just as mentioned above, most pictures you find in the Photos app that cannot delete are synced from your computer. You can sync them again with iTunes on your computer to remove synced photos from iPhone. Moreover, iTunes offers you two types of deleting photos from your iPhone, continue to read and learn more detail about how to fix cannot delete photos from the iPhone.
Step 1: When you connect iPhone to your computer with a USB cable. Install the latest iTunes and launch the program on your computer. It will recognize your iPhone and display the iPhone icon in the upper right corner.
Step 2: Select your iPhone from the Device list to open the Summary menu of the iPhone. After that, you can click the Photos option and you will find the Sync Photos from option.
Step 3: After that, you can uncheck the Sync Photos from option. You can click the Apply option to finish deleting iPhone synced photos. It will remove photos from the other connected iOS devices.
Step 1: Create a new folder on your computer and you’d better leave the folder empty. After that, you can simply open iTunes and then connect iPhone to your computer with the original USB cable.
Step 2: iTunes will recognize your iPhone and display the iPhone icon in the upper right corner. Select your iPhone from the Device list and go to the Summary menu for the iPhone.
Step 3: Click the Photos option in the Summary tab. Find and choose the Sync Photos from option. Check the Selected albums button and you should select the folder just created to sync photos from.
Step 4: iTunes will erase the photos in your iPhone, meanwhile sync the empty folder to your iPhone. After that, you can choose the All folders option and click the Apply option to remove photos from your iPhone.
When you finally delete the undeletable photos from your iPhone, what should you do if you delete some photos by mistake? iPhone Data Recovery is the all-in-one photo recovery to get back the deleted photos from your iPhone, iTunes backup, and iCloud backup. Moreover, you can also preview HEIC photos and even convert HEIC to JPG format.
Step 1: Once you have installed iPhone Data Recovery, you can launch the program on your computer. If you connect the iPhone to the computer for the first time, you can unlock your iPhone and tap the Trust option on your iPhone to detect the files.
Step 2: After scanning the iPhone, you can find all the photos in your iPhone listed in different categories, including the photos from Camera Roll, Viber, Facebook, and more. Make sure the photo is just what you want, double click it and you can preview it.
Step 3: Choose the deleted photos from yoour iPhone and click the Recover button. The checked files will be exported and saved to your computer. If you have backed up your iPhone with iTunes backup or iCloud backup, you can also restore the photos within the program.
Turn off the My Photo Stream option from the Photos option in the Settings app. It allows deleting any picture from My Photo Stream on your iPhone. You can disconnect your iPhone when you fix the problem that you cannot delete photos from the iPhone.
Go to the Profile option of the Facebook app, choose the Photos option and select the Synced from Phone option, and then you can choose photos to delete. When you need to release the storage space, you should enable the Optimize iPhone Storage feature beforehand.
iCloud is syncing your picture between Apple devices automatically. Disable it, delete the pictures from iCloud and the photos will be gone. iCloud is syncing your picture back automatically. Disable it, delete the pictures from iCloud and they will be gone as desired.
Now your synced photos are removed from your iPhone. Re-syncing iPhone with iTunes is a suitable method when you can’t delete photos from your iPhone after sync. It will be helpful for you to delete synced photos from iPhone with several mentioned manners. If you deleted some photos by mistake, you can also choose the iPhone photo recovery to get back the photos. For more queries about the topic, you can leave a comment in the article.